Storytelling – getting the pictures from my head into yours

Tsar Saltan

tsar saltanThe Tale of Tsar Saltan is a poem by Pushkin and an opera by Rimsky-Korsakov that is too rarely performed [like most of them], but I tell it differently, leaving out some magic bits and making the structure clearer. I also introduce Baba Yaga as joint villainess, which I think is completely appropriate.

In this picture, Tsar Saltan [who seems older than I would have expected, but then big beards are always impressive] is listening outside the merchant’s house to hear what each of the three daughters would do if they were to become Tsarina.

The picturesque dog does not, alas, seem to have a part in the story – but give me time, give me time!

Leave a Reply

